Over 60 million people in Ethiopia are the staple users of injera. That makes up more than half of the Ethiopian population. So even though around 30% of crop production is covered by the cultivation of teff (CSA, 2015), it is not proportional with consumer demand yet. Besides frequently mentioned wondering of teff’s natural existence, people frequently ask one question. Is injera Gluten-free? Out of the frequently mentioned wondering of teff’s natural existence, its gluten involvement is one of them. Before concluding gluten’s existence in Injera, it’s better to understand the natural character and definition of gluten itself.
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a protein present in some grains, including wheat, barley, and rye. It can cause small intestinal damage for people with celiac disease by making the body attack itself in response to gluten consumption. So basically, celiac disease is a disease that causes the small intestine to be very sensitive to gluten which leads to difficult digestion. Thus it is considered very harmful for people with celiac disease. But for people with no celiac disease, it is regarded as neither healthy nor unhealthy.
Now that you are aware of both gluten and celiac disease, it’s time to conclude the nature of Injera.
So is injera Gluten-free?
Yes, Injera is gluten-free.
if the Injera is made up of teff 100%, it is gluten-free. But most commercially available injera is usually mixed with other substituents such as wheat and barley and the like. In that case, it will not be gluten-free anymore. So if you are suffering from celiac disease, you should make sure the injera is made up of 100% teff before you eat it.